Spotify to Increase Subscription Fees in Ireland

In a move that probably surprises very few people, Spotify has announced that they will be increasing their monthly subscription fees for Spotify Premium users. The price change will impact paid subscribers in 53 countries, including Ireland and most of the EU.

The price increase in Ireland appears to be in line with other markets, so the monthly price will increase by €1, which is about 10% of the current price of the individual premium. The current price of a Spotify Premium Individual subscription is €9.99 / month with other plans available for multiple members of the same household varying in price up to €17.99 / month.

In some respects Spotify has become a victim of its own success. As the largest music streaming provider in the world with over 200 million paid subscribers it has been struggling to maintain the growth trajectory. It recently announced a crackdown on subscribers who were sharing their account logins and while many expected this to lead to a negative impact on the company the opposite was true.

The full list of countries impacted is: Andorra, Albania, Argentina, Austria, Australia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Belgium, Bulgaria, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cyprus, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Spain, Finland, France, United Kingdom, Greece, Guatemala, Hong Kong, Croatia, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Iceland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Latvia, Monaco, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Malta, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, New Zealand, Peru, Portugal, Serbia, Sweden, Singapore, Slovenia, Slovakia, San Marino, Thailand, Türkiye, United States, Kosovo.

Update / Correction: It was Netflix that was doing the clampdown on password sharing, not Spotify.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.